Delegates elect new state leaders at annual meeting | TCTA
Share this page:

Delegates elect new state leaders at annual meeting

Share this page:

Delegates to the Representative Assembly approved revisions to TCTA's governance documents and elected new statewide leaders during TCTA's 2024 Annual Meeting in San Antonio last week. State President Nydia Alvarez-Alonzo of Mission CTA presided over the meeting.

Elected to two-year terms on the Board of Directors (formerly the Executive Board), are:

  • President-Elect: Vivian Burleson, Northside CTA
  • Budget Director: Tommy Evans, Abilene CTA
  • Curriculum & Instruction Director: Cristal Isaacks, Levelland CTA
  • Teacher Personal Services Director: Melanie Love Hoyt, Pottsboro CTA

Elected as Council Members-at-Large to serve a one-year term on the Advisory Council (formerly the Directors' Council) beginning June 1 are:

  • Albert Mosqueda, San Benito CTA
  • Omar Esson, Killeen CTA
  • Velma Sanchez, PSJA CTA
  • Joyce McCurdy, Wichita Falls CTA
  • Maria Lara, Lubbock CTA

Delegates in even-numbered districts also elected the following members to the Advisory Council, for terms beginning June 1:

  • District 4: Dawn Hopkins, Lamar CTA
  • District 10: Mocha Wohlgemuth, Whitesboro CTA
  • District 12: Sherry Miller, Killeen CTA
  • District 16: Myra Borchers, Amarillo CTA
  • District 18: Melanie Jones, Midland CTA
  • District 20: Kimberly Villarreal, North East CTA

For those unable to join us last week, recordings of the three CPE sessions presented Feb. 16 will be available on TCTA's website by mid-March.

Click here to see more photos from the 2024 Annual Meeting.