TCTA Leadership | TCTA
Share this page:

TCTA Leadership

Share this page:

TCTA 2021-22 Executive Board

The TCTA Executive Board comprises 10 members elected to statewide positions. In addition to other duties, these officers coordinate activities in corresponding TCTA departments at headquarters.

The TCTA president-elect is chosen annually by delegates to the Representative Assembly, who are sent to the TCTA Convention as representatives of local CTA affiliates. The president-elect assumes office as president the following year. The president serves as a liaison among the members, elected leaders and staff. He or she is available to attend local affiliate and district functions on behalf of TCTA.

The TCTA president-elect serves as chair of the Communications/Public Relations Committee, and the TCTA immediate past-president is chair of the Student Issues Committee.

  • President: Sherry Miller, Killeen ISD
  • President-Elect: Eleanore Malone, Chapel Hill ISD
  • Immediate Past President: Twila Read, Grand Prairie ISD
  • Budget Committee Chair: Melody Young, Sherman ISD
  • Curriculum & Instruction Committee Chair: Joyce McCurdy, Wichita Falls ISD
  • Governance Committee Chair: Jennifer Hutchinson, Hays CISD
  • Legislation Committee Chair: Cristal Isaacks, Levelland ISD
  • Membership Committee Chair: Debra Helbert, Lamar CISD
  • Professional Rights & Responsibilities Committee Chair: Sharron Wood, Deweyville ISD
  • Teacher Personal Services Committee Chair: Nydia Alvarez-Alonzo, Mission CISD

Directors’ Council

TCTA’s Directors’ Council includes statewide elected leaders: the members of the Executive Board (president, president-elect, immediate past-president and TCTA committee chairs) as well as district directors elected from each of TCTA’s 20 districts. To ensure that the composition of the council reflects TCTA’s diverse membership, ethnic minority directors-at-large are elected, if needed, by the voting delegates at the TCTA Annual Convention (the TCTA Representative Assembly).

District directors are available to assist all CTAs within the districts they represent. These directors represent member views at the state level, assist CTAs with membership recruitment and local activities, and keep local leaders apprised of TCTA activities and accomplishments.

  • District 1: Carmen Garza, Pharr San Juan Alamo ISD
  • District 3: James Garcia, Victoria ISD
  • District 4: Dawn Hopkins, Lamar CISD
  • District 5: Keri Hilton, Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD
  • District 9: Holly Lucas, Wichita Falls ISD
  • District 10: Melanie Love, Pottsboro ISD
  • District 12: Omar Esson, Killeen ISD
  • District 13: Natalie Tatsch, Gonzales ISD
  • District 14: Tommy Evans, Abilene ISD
  • District 15: Brec Espinoza, Brownwood ISD
  • District 16: Christina Johnson, Amarillo ISD
  • District 17: Sandi Hansen, Lubbock ISD
  • District 19: Scott Berkenpas, Socorro ISD
  • District 20: Vivian Burleson, Northside ISD
  • Director-at-Large: Ruben Chavez, Edcouch-Elsa ISD
  • Director-at-Large: Stephanie Granado, McAllen ISD