Texas Senate candidates | TCTA
Share this page:

Texas Senate candidates

Share this page:

In the 31-member Texas Senate, only 15 seats are up for election in 2024. Those candidates appear in the table below.

If you do not know the number of the district in which you reside, you can find it on your voter registration card, or you may look it up here. Click on each candidate's name to find more information, such as campaign websites, social media links, voting records, ACT For TCTA contributions and education group support. TCTA does not endorse candidates; this information is provided to help you be an informed voter.

Texas Senate District 6Texas Senate District 7Texas Senate District 8
Carol Alvarado (incumbent), DemocratPaul Bettencourt (incumbent), RepublicanAngela Paxton (incumbent), Republican
Martha Fierro, RepublicanMichelle Gwinn, DemocratRachel Mello, Democrat
Nasir H. Malik, Democrat
Texas Senate District 10Texas Senate District 12Texas Senate District 14
Phil King (incumbent), Republican
Tan Parker (incumbent), Republican
Sarah Eckhardt (incumbent), Democrat
Andy Morris, DemocratStephanie Draper, Democrat
Texas Senate District 15Texas Senate District 16Texas Senate District 17
Michelle Anderson Bonton, DemocratNathan Johnson (incumbent), DemocratJoan Huffman (incumbent), Republican
Alberto "Beto" Cardenas Jr., DemocratVictoria Neave Criado, DemocratKathy Cheng, Republican
Molly Cook, Democrat
Jarvis D. Johnson, Democrat
Todd Litton, Democrat
Karthik Soora, Democrat
Joseph L. Trahan, Republican
Texas Senate District 20Texas Senate District 23Texas Senate District 25
Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (incumbent), DemocratRoyce West (incumbent), DemocratDonna Campbell (incumbent), Republican

Merrie Fox, Democrat
Texas Senate District 27Texas Senate District 29Texas Senate District 30
Morgan LaMantia (incumbent), DemocratCésar J. Blanco (incumbent), DemocratMichael Braxton, Democrat
Adam Hinojosa, Republican
Dale Frey, Democrat

Matthew McGhee, Democrat
Cody Clark, Republican
Carrie de Moor, Republican
Brent Hagenbuch, Republican
Jace Yarbrough, Republican

Note: Votes can’t be cast in uncontested statewide races, which will be listed separately on the ballot after races with multiple candidates.