Texas school districts participating in Social Security | TCTA
Share this page:

Texas school districts participating in Social Security

Share this page:

This is an unofficial list of districts that participate in Social Security to some extent, compiled by the Employee Retirement System of Texas and researched by TCTA. There are a variety of arrangements, with some districts participating for all employees and some covering only certain categories of employees.

Employees should contact the school district personally to verify the extent to which the district is participating in Social Security.

Districts participating for all employees:

Anahuac ISD Austin ISD
Big Sandy (Polk County) ISD Brookeland ISD
Brownwood ISD Fort Davis ISD
Goodrich ISD Grady ISD not participating for new employees
Harris County Department of Education Iraan-Sheffield ISD
Lackland ISD LaGloria ISD
Pharr-SanJuan-Alamo ISD Port Arthur ISD
Premont ISD Randolph Field ISD
San Antonio ISD Sweeny ISD
West Rusk County Consolidated ISD

Districts Participating for Non-teachers and Non-administrators:

Aransas County ISD Archer City ISD
Baird ISD Banquete ISD
Belton ISD Calhoun County ISD
Canyon ISD City View ISD *substitute teachers only
Christoval ISD Cooper ISD
Coleman ISD Denver City ISD
Driscoll Consolidated ISD Electra ISD
Fredericksburg ISD Glen Rose ISD
Gonzales ISD Granbury ISD
Hidalgo ISD Hudson ISD
Hunt ISD Kilgore ISD
Lindale Consolidated ISD Lubbock ISD
Lufkin ISD Nocona ISD
Northside ISD Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD
Ponder ISD San Saba ISD
Somerville ISD Stephenville ISD
Temple ISD *substitute teachers and those working less than 20 hrs/week Tidehaven ISD
West ISD Yoakum ISD

*These employees might not be contributing to the Teacher Retirement System; check with the district personnel office.