TCTA member finalist for award; two appointed to national… | TCTA
Share this page:

TCTA member finalist for award; two appointed to national council

Share this page:

Six Texas teachers, including a TCTA member, have been named finalists for the 2018 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The awards recognize K-6 teachers whose innovative methods bring teaching to life in the classroom. The Texas finalists in elementary science are: Brenda Williams, Argyle ISD, a TCTA member since 2017; Allison Bearden, Tomball ISD; and Celene Rosen, Plano ISD. The Texas finalists in elementary math are Ellaree Lehman, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD; Angelica Nino, San Antonio ISD; and Kirsta Paulus, Pasadena ISD.

Former TCTA state presidents Dolores Ramirez and Nanette Sissney, both currently serving on the TRS Board of Trustees, have been appointed to the Resolutions Committee of the National Council on Teacher Retirement, with Ramirez serving as the chair. TRS Executive Director Brian Guthrie is the new president-elect of the Council.

Have news to share about an award or honor?
Email so we can let other members know about your accomplishments.