Shelley Jeoffroy named 2023 Texas Teacher of the Year | TCTA
Share this page:

Shelley Jeoffroy named 2023 Texas Teacher of the Year

Share this page:
Shelley Jeoffrey
Shelley Jeoffrey

Shelley Jeoffroy, a fifth-grade math teacher at Otis Brown Elementary in Irving ISD, was named 2023 Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year and will advance to represent the state in the national competition. "I'm incredibly humbled and honored to represent the state of Texas," Jeoffroy said. "With teaching, you're leaving legacies ... and that makes every hard day and every exhausting day worth it."

Chris McLeod
Chris McLeod

Chris McLeod, a rocket engineering teacher at Brazoswood High School in Brazosport ISD, was named the 2023 Texas Secondary Teacher of the Year. In his first year of teaching, he said a co-teacher told him, "Teaching is an art, not a science." McLeod said, "He was right. Often, we wind up far from the plan, but that's where those moments of magic happen. ... Students may only remember part of the lessons we teach, but they'll always remember how we made them feel."

“I congratulate Shelley and Chris on this achievement. Texas Teacher of the Year is the highest honor our state bestows upon its teachers," said Kevin Brown, executive director of TASA. “They have distinguished themselves among thousands of outstanding, dedicated teachers across our state and nation have who have answered the call to serve others."

TOY Luncheon
TCTA State President Eleanore Malone, left, with Region 7 Elementary Teacher of the Year Pydi Oliver at the Teacher of the Year luncheon.

The winners were announced Friday during a luncheon honoring the 40 Regional Teachers of the Year, including TCTA members Maria Mascorro-Dominguez of Mission CISD, Amy Marquez of PSJA ISD, Pydi Oliver of Lindale ISD, Ryan Cosby of Colorado ISD, Patricia Villarreal of San Felipe Del Rio CISD, Tiffany Ryals of Amarillo ISD, Brittany Wright of Lubbock-Cooper ISD and Marle Reynolds of Kermit ISD.

During the luncheon, Ramon Benavides of Ysleta ISD, the 2022 Texas Teacher of the Year, had some advice for this year's honorees and teachers across Texas. "We have to celebrate teachers," he said. "Teachers, don't be afraid to celebrate yourselves. You set the tone for our profession. Administrators, celebrate your staff. ... When you celebrate yourself, you are celebrating the kids. They're the reason why we do what we do. Enjoy the journey."

The Texas Teacher of the Year program is administered by the Texas Association of School Administrators, in coordination with the state's Regional Education Service Centers and through sponsors, including TCTA.

TCTA's 2022-23 State President Eleanore Malone of Chapel Hill ISD served as a judge to help determine this year's state finalists:

  • Lisa Mackey, Fox Elementary School, Klein ISD
  • Shelley Jeoffroy, Otis Brown Elementary, Irving ISD
  • Kari Johnston, Perez Elementary School, Austin ISD
  • Chris McLeod, Brazoswood High School, Brazosport ISD
  • Andrea Larson, McNeil High School, Round Rock ISD
  • Tricia Shay, Borger High School, Borger ISD

Click here to read more about all of this year's Regional Teachers of the Year.