6 TCTA members named 2022 Regional Teachers of the Year | TCTA
Share this page:

6 TCTA members named 2022 Regional Teachers of the Year

Share this page:

Six outstanding teachers will compete for the title of 2022 Texas Teacher of the Year. The Texas Association of School Administrators announced this year's finalists on Aug. 20. Three elementary and three secondary teachers were selected from the 2022 Regional Teachers of the Year.

The elementary finalists are:

  • Jennifer Han, Juan Seguin Elementary School, McAllen ISD, Region 1
  • Ashley Phelps, Andy Woods Elementary School, Tyler ISD, Region 7
  • Bonnie Anderson, Miller's Point Elementary School, Judson ISD, Region 20

The secondary finalists are:

  • Sanford Jeames, Eastside Early College High School, Austin ISD, Region 13
  • Ramon Benavides, Del Valle High School, Ysleta ISD, Region 19
  • Miguel Mendez, Holmgreen Center, Northside, Region 20

TCTA members recognized as regional winners

Six TCTA members are among the 40 Regional Teachers of the Year. They'll be recognized at a banquet on Oct. 15 in Austin, during which time the 2022 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year will be announced, along with the winner selected to represent Texas in the national Teacher of the Year contest.

Congratulations to the following members:

  • Jeana Banta, Flour Bluff Intermediate School, Flour Bluff ISD, Region 2
  • Vanessa George-Sebro, Silverlake Elementary School, Pearland ISD, Region 4
  • Amy Thompson, Lindale High School, Lindale ISD, Region 7
  • Robin Hilton, Texas Middle School, Texarkana ISD, Region 8
  • Jayme Beckham, Crockett Elementary School, Wichita Falls ISD, Region 9
  • Sarah Hawkins, Magnet at Travis Elementary School, Ector County ISD, Region 18

See a complete list of 2022 Regional Teachers of the Year and learn more about the six state finalists