2019 Convention delegates elect leaders, set legislative… | TCTA
Share this page:

2019 Convention delegates elect leaders, set legislative priorities

Share this page:
2019-20 TCTA Executive Board
The 2019-2020 Executive Board takes office June 1, 2019. They are, from left, Melody Young, Cristal Isaacks, Cherie Bales, Albert Mosqueda, Eleanore Malone, Twila Read, Joyce McCurdy, Ann Martinez, Sherry Miller and Teresa Koehler.

Delegates attending TCTA's 2019 Convention and Capitol Visit last week in Austin elected statewide leaders and approved a list of priorities for the current legislative session. Members discussed many of the priorities with lawmakers at the Capitol, including House Speaker Dennis Bonnen. Convention attendees also heard from Education Commissioner Mike Morath, learned tips to relieve stress and earned CPE hours during the annual gathering.

State President Cherie Bales presided over the Representative Assembly, which heard updates on TCTA business and initiatives during the past year.

Delegates voted for five positions on the Executive Board. Terms begin June 1 for the following people:

  • President-elect: Twila Read of Grand Prairie
  • Governance Committee Chair: Eleanore Malone of Tyler (fills vacant seat, term starts immediately)
  • Membership Committee Chair: Ann Martinez of Calhoun County (re-elected)
  • Legislation Committee Chair: Cristal Isaacks of Levelland
  • Professional Rights & Responsibilities Committee Chair: Joyce McCurdy of Wichita Falls (re-elected)

They’ll be joined on the 2019-20 Executive Board by Albert Mosqueda of San Benito, who becomes president June 1 when Cherie Bales of Denver City becomes immediate past president; Budget Committee Chair Melody Young of Sherman; Curriculum & Instruction Committee Chair Sherry Miller of Killeen; and Teacher Personal Services Committee Chair Teresa Koehler of Clear Creek.

District Coordinating Councils in odd-numbered districts also elected directors for terms that begin June 1. The Executive Board and Directors’ Council next meet in June.

Convention attendees could earn up to 6.75 hours of continuing professional education credits. Topics included school safety, special education, active learning and helping traumatized students. Education Commissioner Mike Morath previewed an initiative to increase teacher pay and retention in hard-to-fill positions and brought copies of TEA's 2018 annual report. Keynote speaker G. Dennette Gardner led participants through stress-relieving techniques to help teachers and students. Videos from several sessions will be posted online in the coming weeks.

View more photos from the 2019 Convention.