Committee assignments released, Dutton new Pub Ed Chair | TCTA
Share this page:

Committee assignments released, Dutton new Pub Ed Chair

Share this page:

One of the key changes associated with the election of a new House speaker is the change in the broader leadership team — primarily the chairs of House committees. Committee assignments were released today by House Speaker Dade Phelan, and the education community will be working with a new chair of the House Public Education Committee: Harold Dutton (D-Houston).

Though new to the chairmanship of this committee, Dutton began serving on the House Public Education Committee in 1997. TCTA is looking forward to working with him and his office and committee staff.

Rep. Rafael Anchia (D-Dallas) is the new chair of the House Pensions, Investments and Financial Services Committee, and Rep. Greg Bonnen will head the powerful House Appropriations Committee. The full memberships of those key committees are below; for the complete list, click here. If you would like to look up committee assignments for a certain member, click here.

House Public Education Committee

CHAIR: Harold Dutton


  • Alma Allen
  • Steve Allison
  • Keith Bell
  • Diego Bernal
  • Brad Buckley
  • Mary Gonzalez
  • Dan Huberty
  • Ken King
  • Terry Meza
  • James Talarico
  • Gary VanDeaver

House Pensions, Investments and Financial Services Committee

CHAIR: Rafael Anchia

VICE-CHAIR: Tan Parker

  • Giovanni Capriglione
  • Sergio Munoz
  • Mary Ann Perez
  • Glenn Rogers
  • Shelby Slawson
  • Phil Stephenson
  • Hubert Vo

House Appropriations Committee

CHAIR: Greg Bonnen

VICE-CHAIR: Mary Gonzalez

  • Trent Ashby
  • Cecil Bell
  • Giovanni Capriglione
  • Jay Dean
  • Alex Dominguez
  • Gary Gates
  • Justin Holland
  • Donna Howard
  • Ann Johnson
  • Jarvis Johnson
  • Julie Johnson
  • Ina Minjarez
  • Geanie Morrison
  • John Raney
  • Toni Rose
  • Matt Schaefer
  • Carl Sherman
  • Lynn Stucky
  • Ed Thompson
  • Steve Toth
  • Gary VanDeaver
  • Armando Walle
  • Terry Wilson
  • Gene Wu
  • Erin Zweiner